SAHM Wanting to Return - Expired License - Help! (NH)

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Ms. Scarlet, Sep 13, 2016.

1. Ms. Scarlet

Ms. Scarlet Rookie

Sep 13, 2016

I have a masters degree in Political Science. After that I went through a certification program to get my educator license. I did my student teaching, got my license, and then I became pregnant with my first child and decided to stay home with him. I now have two children and my license expired last year (New Hampshire).

I know I need to come up with some professional development credits to renew my license. And that's well and good. But even prior to the expiration of my license, I have had zero luck in the application process. I wouldn't even get called for interviews.

I don't have relevant work experience so my letters of recommendation are out of date and not super relevant.

Where do I start? What do I do? I've been trying to think about networking opportunities, maybe tutoring... ?? I've just been so dismally unsuccessful that I'm wondering if I should put all the effort into making another go at it.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

3. anna9868

anna9868 Habitué

Sep 13, 2016

I would try to apply for Instructional positions at the middle or high (I'm assuming you would like to work with older kids). Also, doing subtitute teaching gives you a good experience.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 13, 2016

I'll guess that you were looking for work five years ago, Ms. Scarlet. At that point, the teacher job markets in the various states were pretty universally hideous. Whether the market in New Hampshire is still bad, I don't know, but there's been a decided uptick in hiring in most states. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.