Sad Realization

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Andrea L, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Andrea L

Andrea L Habitué

Jul 25, 2005

Okay, so I'm really excited about teaching third grade this year (have taught fourth grade for the last 4 years) and am also excited about changing rooms. I thought that I would add up the amount of money that I've spent so far and it is already over $200. :eek: Yikes! I guess I'd better stop and realize that I really don't need to buy anything else for my classroom. :wow:

3. teacherbell

teacherbell Cohort

Jul 25, 2005

I am just starting out in my first classroom and it seems like there is so much stuff I need to buy. I figure I am going to pace myself and buy the stuff I have to have to start and then add stuff as I can. I am definately hitting Goodwill, garage sales and library book sales. I don't even want to add up what I have spent so far. I am sure it is a scary number.

4. Amanda

Amanda Administrator Staff Member

Jul 25, 2005

5. Island Teacher

Island Teacher New Member

Jul 25, 2005

Save those receipts!

Save the receipts from everything you are buying. If you spend over a certain amount, you can make a nice little deductions from your income tax! Ask an accountant to learn the exact amount, but it is there! Unfortunately, buying things from a Garage Sale won't count, unless you can get a receipt! It doesn't hurt to try though!

Paige

6. Amanda

Amanda Administrator Staff Member

Jul 25, 2005

Welcome, Island Teacher!

We must have been posting at the same time. ;)

7. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 25, 2005

In all honesty, that's not that much!!! :)

This is my second year in fourth grade, and I buy approximately $250 in new items every school year. Especially when you're changing grade levels, it's o.k.!

8. luvmykids

luvmykids Companion

Jul 25, 2005