S.O.S.

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Evabop, Apr 10, 2012.

1. Evabop

Evabop Rookie

Apr 10, 2012

I am a person who lives, eats, and breathes teaching (I'm crazy about education). I am currently working on my Masters degree and have only three years' experience teaching children.

I know a lot about education, but I am surrounded by teachers who are much younger, substantially less educated, and less experienced. I am new to this school and having trouble being heard. I was concerned about my current classroom (one-year-old). Fortunately, after going to the superiors, changes were made. Now the classroom is a great deal more effective and behavior has been more positive.

The dilemma I face is when my bosses place me in the in two-year-old room. This happens every so often, depending on teacher/student ratio. They throw me into a very challenging group of students for a small amount of time and I have no idea how to help these friends listen and play with me (I teach through games). They have been disciplined with authoritative methods and undergo many teacher-centered learning activities. One day I was with them for four hours and by the end of the period I was able to get some positive behavior out of them. Their current teacher yells at them a lot, does not keep her lessons fresh and interesting, and shows inconsistencies with her disciplinary methods. I can actually see the problems increasing and achievement digressing. They are not learning and it pulls at my heart strings.

I am appalled that my superiors appreciate their yelling instructor as a teacher, and they don't understand that these babies need more positive discipline, consistent policies and procedures, and engaging learning activities.