running out of ideas......

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by eireannashley, May 3, 2011.

1. eireannashley

eireannashley Rookie

May 3, 2011

I am sure a million wonderful teachers are in the same boat as I, and I am also sure a lot of people are tired of hearing about how so and so can not find a teaching job, however I literally am running out of ideas and of course have come here for some support!

I graduated in 08 with elementary eduction, social science, and middle school in IL. I left right after graduation and taught English in Costa Rica. When I came home, everyone I graduated with had amazing teaching jobs and I could not find a job for the life of me! I ended up having a one year maternity leave last year, but so far this year I have had nothing. I went on 6 or 7 interviews and a few second interviews but they always chose the candidate with more experience! I have been applying to jobs left and right all across the state, have created an online portfolio, attended a job fair, and have emailed and mailed principals mini portfolios!

I am feeling extremely depressed about the whole situation. I know it is hard everywhere, especially in IL, but after so many rejections it is hard to not think you are the problem. I had amazing grades and graduated with honors. I was in a lot of different clubs and honor societies. I am a great teacher but no one apparently sees that!

I am out of ideas....I guess I just one, needed to vent and two, was wondering if anyone had any other suggestions. Also, words of encouragement would be much appreciated! :)

3. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

May 3, 2011

First of all - teaching English in Costa Rica sounds amazing!!!!

I'm so sorry you're going through this - but as I'm sure you can guess, you are NOT alone!! I am still in a credential program, but I am in California, where things are absolutely horrific (4th year of layoffs statewide), so I'm pretty terrified as I look ahead to when I'll be applying for jobs.