Rules/Consequences

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrsburf, Jul 23, 2010.

1. mrsburf

mrsburf Rookie

Jul 23, 2010

I feel really weird about posting consequences and rules in my class. I feel that is a negative approach. Instead, I am posting classroom standards and expectations. The standards are simple, Respect, Honesty, and Communication. By not following the standards, isn't that breaking the rules? I want to b more positive by pointing out how to behavve rather than pointing out how not to behave. Am I being naive, it is my first year.

3. Unbeknownst

Unbeknownst Cohort

Jul 23, 2010

Someone's going to give you a great answer on this, but in the meantime, here's my perspective:

It is good to post your expectations. The fact that you have just three is great -- the less the better.

I think "respect, honest, and communication" are a little vague, but you are the one who gets to define what that really means.

I would post 3-5 rules that you find extremely important (important enough to stop class and correct the problem each time it happens until it stops) that are a little more specific (Do not talk when the teacher is talking, raise your hand to talk, .... whatever you find important).

Here's the main thing though: enforce whatever rules you put up. Who cares what consequences you post, it's the consequences you enforce that matter.

In a nutshell: yes, it is good to post expectations. Just follow it up with enforcement.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 23, 2010

I think that being too specific can be a problem.

If you say "Don't throw papers", some kid will point out, after the fact, that it doesn't say "Don't throw your shoe."

If you say "No talking" he'll assume it's OK to sing, or chirp like a bird, or croak like a frog.

I think generalities are a whole lot easier to enforce!!

5. Unbeknownst

Unbeknownst Cohort

Jul 23, 2010

That's why I said wait for a better answer ;)