Rudeness!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MissFroggy, Dec 6, 2007.

1. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Dec 6, 2007

I work in a school where we don't do "rewards" and the kids are generally very internally motivated and do things for the sake of doing them, not because they will get something out of it. (We don't earn class parties, etc.)

Well, we have been talking about winter holidays and today did Hanukkah. I brought in a Menorah and we played the dreidle game and we had donut holes. They each had two. I guess during recess a bunch of them went in looking for them and one kid dug through the TRASH looking for a thrown away donut hole.

They apparently were greedy and begging for more (with another teacher while I was gone.)

Do you think they were like this because they were just rude? I can't figure out why they would act this way over store brand donut holes... except that we have lots of organic type families that don't give the kids a lot of sugar and things??

What would cause them to go so crazy? Seriously in 4 years at this school, this is the first time I have given my students a treat like this, so I really don't know.

3. h2omane

h2omane Comrade

Dec 7, 2007

Seems odd for sure,

Was it grade 3's or the 4's that were begging for more?
    Did a teacher say that there were more to hand out?
    were there any left overs?

Speaking of rudeness, usually tempers are thin this time of year. Stick to your guns, and say that this is not acceptable. "appaled by their behavior" etc...

Season's greetings,
    Mr. Skinner :D

4. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Dec 7, 2007

Well, it was just two boys- fourth grade who were begging for more and looking for the leftovers. There was more than a whole box left, as I only gave each kid 2, and there were probably enough for 5 apiece.