rowdy boys

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by luv2teach415, Sep 20, 2013.

1. luv2teach415

luv2teach415 Companion

Sep 20, 2013

Hi so I need some advice. This is my first year with 3rd graders. I've been with 5th graders in the past. I'm having a difficult time with 5 of my boys. Four of them just have no self-control at all. I'm pretty sure one of them has ADHD and hasn't been evaluated yet. He's always on the move including his body parts: hands, arms, legs. The other three are the youngest in their family and seem to do as they please. In class, they go over to other tables during a lesson to talk with someone, throw erasers and pencils at each other. I've redirected them and redirected them countless times. Then I have one boy who seems to have a lot of emotional issues. I've spoken with his parents and apparently he was bullied in 1st grade in another school and these are the side effects of that. He goes in the bathroom more as his "safe haven." He's not being bullied in my class (not from what I can see and not from what he's told his parents). But he stays in the bathroom for 10-15 minutes at a time. He's constantly asking to go to the bathroom and says it's an emergency (he doesn't have a bladder issue). From what his parents and I have discussed, it seems he's so anxious that he's working himself up which causes him to have stomachaches. When things don't go his way, he says it's the worst day ever and he shuts down. I've been teaching for almost 10 years and haven't experienced a class like this one. I've tried many different classroom management strategies but none seem to work. I could use any tips or advice on what to try out with any of these kids. Does anyone have any strategies that have worked for them? Thanks so much.

3. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Sep 20, 2013