Routines??

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by hockey1021, Jul 15, 2008.

1. hockey1021

hockey1021 Rookie

Jul 15, 2008

This is my first year teaching first grade and I was wondering was are some of your routines for your first graders?

Thank you

3. sherri0318

sherri0318 Rookie

Jul 15, 2008

I always get confused between routines and procedures.........can you be more specific (I'm a little slow sometimes!)

4. hockey1021

hockey1021 Rookie

Jul 16, 2008

Anything will help me at this time.

Thanks

5. brandi0718

brandi0718 Comrade

Jul 16, 2008

My kids are not allowed to sharpen pencils at all unless it is their job....at the end of each day the person with the pencil sharpening job will sharpen all pencils--the next morning i set pencils at their table..i keep a basket of sharpened pencils so if one breaks we just switch them out and at the end of the day i take them all up and start over....

6. hockey1021

hockey1021 Rookie

Jul 16, 2008

Great idea. Thanks

7. 1stGr8

1stGr8 Companion

Jul 16, 2008

There is a great book by Scholastic that is about classroom routines... If you google it I am sure it will come up. It is useful. As far as routines, I too use the pencil sharpen rule mentioned above. Also, this seems simple, but anytime I need them to come to the rug, return to their desks, line up, etc. I always call them one table at a time. Also, when they are packing up, I found there used to be a clump of kids at mailboxes, a clump in the closet, and a clump pushing to get to those places. Now, I call one table to go to the mailbox and return to their desks, while another table gets their backpacks. I call one table at a time for each place until everyone has everything they need to pack up. It controls a lot of confusion and pushing!

8. sherri0318

sherri0318 Rookie

Jul 16, 2008