**Room for BOOKS/Supplies?!?

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Miss E., Aug 13, 2007.

1. Miss E.

Miss E. Rookie

Aug 13, 2007

So i am new this year and my kindergarten classroom has tables instead of desks...ive been in classes that some have had individual desks and some had tables...where do you put the students belongings that would normally go inside of a desk...(i know, that was wordy, i apologize!)

they have cubbies, but what about workbooks and of course all of the supplies that they bring from home? just doesnt seem like there is enough room! im feeling very disoriented not being as organized as usual...new state, new school, and im a new teacher! AHH!! :eek:

3. daysy_may

daysy_may Groupie

Aug 14, 2007

The art boxes they kept at their tables, and I had a basket at each table for them to put their notebooks in, and books. Their journals I kept in a separate basket on the counter in the back of the room. Oh, and when I was doing a maternity leave in K, they had desks, but the teacher kept their workbooks on a shelf and got them out as needed.

4. starbucks

starbucks Comrade

Aug 14, 2007

I keep the journals and workbooks. When we are finished using them each day, I have each table make a pile of their workbooks. I then collect them in order table by table. when I pass them out the next day all the workbooks for each table are together and we can get them passed out quickly. We keep our pecils, crayons, and glue sticks in pencil boxes and store them in our cubbies. Sometimes, I wish that I had desks, but I think that tables have their advantages too.

5. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Aug 14, 2007