Roll Call!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by tipani06, Jan 15, 2013.

1. tipani06

tipani06 New Member

Jan 15, 2013

Kia Ora from New Zealand fellow teachers.

I am new to this site, so am finding my way around.

My question today is (and it's rather arbitrary), how long does roll call usually take you to do for each of your classes before you get into the teaching? I'm a student teacher myself (not yet done my practicum in schools), but have been told by a number of teachers of the time it takes to take roll call and settle the students before actually doing any teaching. One teacher told me, in some classes, by the time he had taken the roll call, figured out who was absent (and why), and settled them down, there was only 30 minutes left of actual teaching!

Does anyone else experience this?

3. TeachingHistory

TeachingHistory Companion

Jan 15, 2013

I start the second class starts, and then as soon as the kids are occupied either copying something down, partner discussion, group work, etc I check off my list for who there or not.

I tried doing it first thing....doesn't work for me for whatever reason.

4. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Jan 15, 2013

I teach grade 1 and I just do a quick scan of the room to see who is missing. Unless I was teaching students a new language and they needed to practice greeting people, I wouldn't do an oral roll call.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jan 15, 2013

We do an oral roll call first thing in the morning and right after lunch. It takes no more than a minute to run through 30 names and have the students respond. I don't need to determine why students might be absent, just mark that they aren't in class.

6. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Jan 15, 2013

when you make a seating chart it usually takes less than a minute to determine who is not present by visual inspection and then update your attendance book. Saves the time of reading names and waiting for responses.

7. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Jan 15, 2013