Ridiculous "Teacher Lounge" drama

Discussion in 'General Education' started by horned_Frog89, Aug 31, 2015.

1. horned_Frog89

horned_Frog89 Companion

Aug 31, 2015

Just started my 2nd week ever of teaching and it's great so far!!

I'm a sixth grade math teacher - one of Five. FOUR of us are BRAND new and one is a 3rd year teacher (2nd year at the school - we'll call her "Teacher X"). Well, teacher X has been GREAT at giving us newbies ideas and just giving us an idea of what we need to be doing in the classroom.

SO anyways, I was making copies in the lounge after school and Teacher X said she wanted to talk to me about "something bad". So she told me about how last week, some other teacher had told her that myself and another new math teacher called an activity Teacher X had given us "stupid". It was a social media "get to know me" thing we did on the first day of school.

I mean, is that really necessary? No, I didn't use that activity she gave us because it was too long and I didn't think the kids still used that particular social media outlet anymore. BUT I definitely didn't think it was stupid!

Did I say it was stupid? I highly doubt it. I mean, I don't recall every single thing I said last week, but why would I say that is a room full of teachers??

I feel so 'violated' right now. I highly doubt I'll ever do anything other than make copies in the teacher lounge now.

Any opinions on how to deal with this drama? I don't have time for it.

3. Bunnie

Bunnie Devotee

Aug 31, 2015

Just own up that you didn't use the activity and maybe said you didnt want to but don't recall saying the word stupid.

As a rule of thumb, never eat in the Teacher's lounge, I've only heard things about teachers gossiping or saying things in there that are drama-filled. Maybe not all schools are like that, but most are.