RICA Exam....failed...:(

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by Chaka, Mar 2, 2009.

1. Chaka

Chaka Rookie

Mar 2, 2009

My unofficial results say..."Not Pass".

I scored a 79.

I studied from the Zarrillo Prep Guide, 2002 Edition...(Could be my first mistake).

Gonna sign up to retake in April. Any advice right now would be extremely appreciated.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 2, 2009

Welcome to A to Z, Chaka, and have a hug or two.

You'll get a printed score report soon that will give a little more information (a little) about how you scored what you scored. 79 is pretty close to passing, so there shouldn't be a lot that you need to fix.

Do you yourself have a sense from when you took the test of what needs to change for next time?

4. Chaka

Chaka Rookie

Mar 2, 2009

Not sure on what I blew it on. I finished the test with ONE MINUTE TO SPARE. I'm usually really good at taking standardized tests, and I felt that I did really well on the written portion of the Exam, particularly the case study. The multiple choice was a little tough for me though, because on many questions the "answer" wasn't "Right There", as in many multiple choice tests, (like the CSET). 79 is close to passing, but it's also pretty low compared to how I felt I did. It's like a D-, or an F+, (depending on how you look at it....half empty, half full).

I'm hoping that my study materials were outdated, and I'll go to the bookstore, read up on an updated study book, have an enlightened epiphany, and cruise on forward with better spirits.

Thanks for the reply.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 2, 2009

Ah, I'm so sorry.

My only advice is to listen to Teacher Groupie's advice. She knows her stuff!

6. Chaka

Chaka Rookie

Mar 2, 2009

Let me just ask it.....What's the BEST source of study materials for the RICA Exam?

7. Chaka

Chaka Rookie

Mar 2, 2009

So here are the unofficial results of that test:

Domain I.......+++
    Domain II......++
    Domain III.....+++