Rewards? Punishment?

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by Rosy0114, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Rosy0114

Rosy0114 Rookie

Sep 12, 2011

This is my first year teaching in public school. I've spent 5 years teaching "difficult" students in alternative therapeutic day school. In some cases, they were literally attending our school on house arrest as part of a sentence before going to prison when they graduated high school.

I can handle negative and crazy outbursts. I can modify behavior like I have the magic touch - kids love to do good around me!
    OK - I exaggerate that last part a little bit. My point is that I'm comfortable with behaviors and teaching to them. In a way, you could say it's a passion or "fascination" I have.

PROBLEM? I work in public school now. Middle School. As a behaviorist, I believe in positive and negative consequences for actions/behaviors. I believe in teaching appropriate skills and rewarding in some way with with positive consequences. I also believe in negative consequences when a negative behavior is displayed. Positive consequences, should, of course, be phased out over time.

In this school, I feel like I have absolutely no control. There are no obvious rewards for completing school work, managing time, being respectful, etc. There are no negative consequences for failing to turn in school work, not doing homework, etc., except for calling the parents. We all know that really works (insert sarcasm here). There are no consequences for students who refuse to do work. There are no consequences for students who are continually off-task. Basically, they are allowed to sit in the classroom and be disruptive. There is a "time-out" room, where students go sit and fill out a piece of paper. It doesn't affect them. There's no referral with it... unless they are extremely disrespectful like with the swearing, yelling, name calling, etc.