Rewards for Middle School aged students

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by nhagle, Aug 18, 2008.

1. nhagle

nhagle Rookie

Aug 18, 2008

I am a new teacher and I am trying to come up with rewards to put in my classroom store for my middle school students with Emotional/Behavioral Impariments so far this is my list:
    Pop
    Candy
    Stickers
    School supplies
    Free time pass
    Computer time pass
    work with a friend pass
    No Homework pass
    baseball cards (or football or other sports cards)
    if possible free time in the gym to play basketball....

I keep on thinking of things that would work with elementary age students such as little toys or games from the dollar store but that would not be age appropriate... Please help me come up with more things my middle school students would like to work towards...:unsure:

3. teachersk

teachersk Connoisseur

Aug 18, 2008

How about:

McDonalds dollar certificates (you can buy the booklets of 5 or 10 or whatever and give out one at a time)

BlockBuster certificates (check with the manager to see if you can get some coupons or certificates... sometimes they have them if you tell them you work for a school.....)

Frames? Girls like frames... You can get cheap ones at Wal Mart, Ikea, K-mart, etc.

Earning time as an "office assistant?" (Approval required for this, of course... where they could help out in the office for the last half hour of your class or of the day, or even last 10-20 minutes, whatever was decided?)

Paper/Stationary? (girls again...)

Check with some local fast food joints... they usually have little "perfect attendance" or "star student" type coupons that get you a free drink, free fries, etc.

Check a video store/game store to see if you can get some discount or free rental coupons.

Oriental Trading Company has tons of pens, pencils, candy, other little trinkets that aren't "babyish" but are still "cool" and they're very cheap....

4. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast