Reward Students, Parents Pay!?!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by dolphinswim, Feb 20, 2008.

1. dolphinswim

dolphinswim Companion

Feb 20, 2008

Okay...I am a teacher and a parent. Since when did a "Reward" at school come from me in the form of money sent to school? I am so tired of these "rewards" that I am paying for!

My kids read so many AR books...they get a reward to the local eatery but I have to supply the money...my kids do good in a certain class(I guess they behave and don't stress out the teacher) and they get a "reward" and get pizza for lunch on Friday...I have to send $2.00 by Thursday! For being on the A/B honor roll they get a ice cream party...I have to send in the toppings! The teacher looks good by offering the reward but I am paying for it!

How is any of this a reward?

Here is my note back to my children's school:

Dear Teachers, I have decided to "reward" my children for getting up every morning without my yelling at them, brushing their teeth, eating their breakfast if they choose to and catching the bus every morning since school started! I also am rewarding them for going to school every day and never complaining. For their reward I think a trip to Disney World is sufficient and would like for each of my daughter's 7 teachers, Vice-Principal, Principal, Secretary, Lunch Lady, Bus Driver and anyone else that my daughter comes in contact with to send $100.00 by Friday so I may book their "Reward" online before it is too late! I find it a privlidge to have given birth to and raising my children and think they really deserve this reward! Thank you for your agreement, your understanding and most of all your contribution to their "Reward".

Sincerely, A teacher who "rewards" her class with out asking for money from their parents!

***Please keep in mind this is all in fun, I am really not mad just a bit miffed...and YES I will send in $2.00 so my daughter can enjoy her "reward" that her teacher so graciously decided to give her!