Returning to California - only taught abroad

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Chiliverde, May 9, 2020.

1. Chiliverde

Chiliverde New Member

May 9, 2020

Hello all,

I'm considering returning to California to teach Elementary school, and would love the good, bad, and the ugly. I've been teaching abroad for the last 15 years and got my New Jersey state cert in 2015. Also have my Masters. Lots of experience in accredited schools, so hoping some of my years abroad would be counted.

I basically know nothing about teaching in the US. Would love to hear the good, bad, and ugly about charter schools, public, private, etc. Also, my husband who is a French citizen, is currently doing Teach Now to become a French teacher.

Questions: assuming we decide to do this, is it even feasible for two teachers to support a family in California these days? Would possibly be living in Ventura (moderate expense) or Mendocino (cheaper?) counties. What about insurance, pension, etc? Can you see supporting a family and eventually affording a modest home, and possibly affording a trip back to Europe yearly?

All of this is assuming things stay how they were pre-Covid, which we know they won't.

3. Tyler B.

Tyler B. Groupie

May 9, 2020

According to my experience, just about any district will allow you to bring in 10 years of experience. You'll need to negotiate to get more. You might be able to persuade them of your added value due to your experiences of teaching overseas.

Can't answer your question about living in Ventura or Medocino, but I strongly suggest you avoid charters and private schools if you want good pay, benefits and pension.

My wife and I lived in Europe for 4 years teaching for DOD schools and loved it. We came back to start a family, looked for teaching jobs in California, but ended up in Oregon. We could afford a little house with a white picket fence and a cat in the window. Love it here.

4. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

May 9, 2020