Returning from maternity leave

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by collteach, Mar 18, 2008.

1. collteach

collteach Comrade

Mar 18, 2008

I posted this on the 4th grade board, but got no replies...so I thought I would try this one :)

Hello! I am a 4th grade teacher returning to work on the 24th after being on maternity leave since mid-December. I have kept in touch with my sub and my class, but I know that I will need to spend the first week reteaching MY procedures, rules, and expectations. We have a great deal to do academically, as the students fell behind a little and our testing is less than 2 months away, so I don't have oodles of time to use to get the students back on track with my procedures. I was wondering if anyone had any good suggestions of activities I could use to accomplish this? I don't want the kids to feel like I am coming back overly stern and strict, because I am a fairly laid-back teacher in many ways, as long as my students are respectful and working hard. However, there are a few students who have really shut down while I was gone, and I need them to see the importance of working hard and doing well. I hate to just stand there and restate the rules and procedures. I would love to figure out a more interesting way to do it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated :)

3. elovestoteach

elovestoteach New Member

Mar 18, 2008

Why not have them put a skit together. 1st half showing what things they should do look like and then have the 2nd half showing what they shouldn't do and what those things look like.

I am a 3rd grade teacher and am 5 weeks pregnant. Did you make a fomal announcement to your class that you were pregnant?

4. collteach

collteach Comrade

Mar 19, 2008