Return from Winter Break

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by MsTeacherLadyMaam, Dec 30, 2007.

1. MsTeacherLadyMaam

MsTeacherLadyMaam New Member

Dec 30, 2007

Since this is my first year, I'm still at a loss as to what teachers normally do at certain times throughout the year. For example, my current dilemma is that I'm not sure what to do with my students when we return from Winter Break on Thursday. I know that we can pick up where we left off before the holidays, but I haven't seen them for two weeks and would like to have the chance to ease back into the routine of school. Does that make sense? Is easing back into things even a good idea or will it make my life tougher in the long run? What do some of you more experienced teachers normally do after the long holiday?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 30, 2007

I usually jump right back into the swing of things, but do a bit of review where needed.

4. laugh at onesel

laugh at onesel Rookie

Dec 30, 2007

When I taught in a self contained class we came back with the same ole same ole, but with some time for the students to share about their holiday. Now that I am departmenalized we do a small review (games, jeopardy) of the week before the holiday and give them time to share.

5. BabyMakes3

BabyMakes3 Rookie

Dec 30, 2007

I try to jump right back in to the routine. However, if you come back on a Thursday, I could see doing some other stuff on those 2 days. Do you have any art projects you could do that go along with math or reading...or maybe a fun science hands on activity.

6. BabyMakes3

BabyMakes3 Rookie

Dec 30, 2007

You could have them do a writing project about what they did over break...favorite gifts...etc.

7. Jeky

Jeky Comrade

Dec 31, 2007

I just came over here to ask that exact same question!