Retiring Super Early

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AdamnJakesMommy, Sep 17, 2014.

1. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Sep 17, 2014

This is my 2nd year of teaching, but I'm already thinking about retiring (I'm 29) I don't *really* have to work and never did, but I took out student loans to get my Masters to become a teacher because I was passionate about education and history and thought it would be great. I'm still passionate about both, but am very disillusioned at the same time. I honestly just don't want to do it anymore.

Well, I know there is the program now that after 10 years of public service and paying student loans on the IBR plan, the balance is forgiven. This is what I plan on doing--sticking it out for 10 years and leaving. So once my ten years are up, I am free of any and all debt, and of course any and all reasons to work. I would probably get bored, and want to do something like work as a part-time bank teller (I worked in banking before becoming a teacher and miss it terribly anyways).

Does anyone know of any retirement plans outside of education I can get myself into since I know that I don't plan on retiring from the public education system? I want to go ahead and start sloughing off money towards something like that now.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Sep 17, 2014

I recommend finding a financial adviser. They can help you navigate the world of personal retirement.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 17, 2014

If you don't have one, set up an IRA account with your bank and start depositing funds monthly. You can't pull them out without penalty before age 60 something, though.

5. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Sep 17, 2014

I don't have any advice, but I just have to whine, because I can't do the loan forgiveness anymore. :( After getting married, I have to report my husband's income, too, and now I make just too much to qualify. Bummer!

Alright, whining over!

6. Jerseygirlteach