Resume Questions

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by kcbutterfly, Apr 10, 2006.

1. kcbutterfly

kcbutterfly Companion

Apr 10, 2006

I just passed the Praxis II (Hooray! :D), and I will be applying for a full-time teaching position on a provisional certificate (My degree is in Psyc. not Education). What is the best way to list the Praxis II on my resume? Should I list scores or not? Also, people on another message board are telling me that it's considered "bragging" to list academic honors and accomplishments. Is that true? Is it best to have an objective and summary at the top of your resume or not? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :)

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Apr 10, 2006

On my resume before I officially had my teaching license in my hand I wrote "Passed:" and then listed the state tests I have taken to qualify me to be licensed. I didn't list my scores and once I had my license in-hand I took that off of my resume because having my license automatically means that I have passed those tests. As far as the honors, I have an "Honors" section on my resume where I list that I was a deans list student (gpa of 3.0 or higher) from the Fall of 2002 until the Spring of 2005. I don't think there's anything wrong with listing things like that....although they will see those types of things on your transcripts anyway. Lastly, the objective. I don't have an objective on my resume because my degree and area of licensure (not to mention my cover letter) make it pretty clear that I'm looking for an elementary-level teaching position. If you do decide to use an objective, though, make it short and sweet. For example, "Objective: To obtain an elementary-level teaching position."

4. TexasAggie2323

TexasAggie2323 Comrade

Apr 10, 2006

It is not bragging to list your honors. You are trying to sell yourself to the school district so please do your best to impress them.