Resume Layout?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by gutterballjen, May 10, 2010.

1. gutterballjen

gutterballjen Comrade

May 10, 2010

I am starting to tweak the resume that I submitted for student teaching so it's geared toward getting my first teaching job. I stumbled upon this resume template , and really liked it. It made me wonder, is it okay to have color and/or pictures (within reason, of course) on your resume? When I worked in marketing, I used both, but education is a whole different ballgame.

Would a layout like that be seen as creative, or unprofessional?

3. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

May 10, 2010

It's really different (to me atleast) and I think it would stand out. I've always heard adding graphics and quotes are a no-no, but with the current job market, you need to stand out! I'm sure there are some principals that would be turned-off, but I'm sure not too many.

4. ms.

ms. Comrade

May 11, 2010

I have an altered version of this as my resume. I didn't use this one - but I created one from scratch with similar aspects. I have some amazing comments from my supervisors/employers that I wanted to include. It's not for everyone, but I'm a creative and technology savvy person. Most of the jobs I apply for are online, so the schools already have my black and white basic resume information. Attaching a resume is something extra.

5. gutterballjen

gutterballjen Comrade

May 11, 2010

Me too. I plan on making several different versions of it (black and white, a text document, and a PDF with color) but I am a pretty creative person and have never liked the idea of my resume looking like everyone else's.

I would probably use this template as a springboard for my resume, so it's encouraging to see that you've gotten a positive response.

6. ms.

ms. Comrade

May 11, 2010

Well I had one interview last week, and I have another one this Friday. So it hasn't scared too many people away! :)

7. ms.

ms. Comrade

May 11, 2010