Responding to "I love you"

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by jae, Feb 6, 2010.

1. jae

jae Rookie

Feb 6, 2010

It is my first year teaching, and I am discovering that kindergarteners hug a lot, and more and more lately they are saying I love you to me when they hug me. I am not sure what the appropriate response to this is... My fellow kindergarten teacher says that she says I love you too because for some of them, this is the only love they receive. I care deeply about my kids, but I'm not sure that I love them:unsure:. How do you respond to I love yous from the kids?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Feb 6, 2010

I don't think they would understand the difference between deep affection and love.

I agree with your fellow teacher.

(Not that I get a whole lot of "I love you" comments from the teenagers I teach-- that would be an entirely different problem.)

4. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Feb 6, 2010

When I taught the littles, I always told them I love them.

5. sevenplus

sevenplus Connoisseur

Feb 6, 2010

I usually respond with an "I love you, too." Or sometimes a very warm smiles that shows them they've made my day.

6. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

Feb 6, 2010

I teach high school and have heard lots of I love you, usually they say something like "I love you like you were my mom" to which I always tell them "I love you too, just like I love all my students."

7. KLSSwimmer

KLSSwimmer Habitué

Feb 6, 2010

I always respond, "I love you too" to my kindergarten students. I agree with Alice - they don't consciously know difference between different kinds of love, they just love.

8. starbucks

starbucks Comrade

Feb 6, 2010