Respect and being taken seriously!

Discussion in 'Music Teachers' started by celloldy, Mar 8, 2011.

1. celloldy

celloldy New Member

Mar 8, 2011

I wonder if any other music teachers have come across this and how you dealt with it?
    I teach music in an independent school 3 afternoons a week to K - 3's.
    I teach in the auditorium, which is used for other things, like storing chairs, music stands, tables, etc. and the stage has a back door access and is used for storage when not in use.
    I am in my 3rd year there now and most of the teachers have been there forever, so I'm still "new" in comparison.
    The problem is that people just walk into the class (teachers, EA's included) without excusing themselves, distract my class which I work hard to keep engaged and sometimes proceed to make a whole bunch of noise which totally disrupts the flow of the class causing me endless frustration.
    It's not always the same person/people, and I'm wondering how I deal with this without seeming like I'm trying to 'throw my weight around'! I get the feeling that people think - "It's only the music class" and I want to try and change that mind set, but in an effective way that will result in a mutual respect not resentment. I've thought about putting some kind of sign on the door when I'm using the room as a start - anyone have any thoughts about this?

3. cmw

cmw Groupie

Mar 9, 2011

I would speak with your principal or perhaps a nicely worded email would do the trick. Maybe you could include the times the room is in use & ask people to wait until before or after those times to get things out of the room. I would put in the email that the students get distracted when someone enters the room. I would even say that they may not think it is disruptive if they just pop in, but then someone else does it, and then someone else. (I think sometimes you just need to spell it out so people understand where you're coming from. ) Good luck!:hugs:

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso