Resource Math, help me out here!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by kaymurr, Dec 4, 2007.

1. kaymurr

kaymurr Rookie

Dec 4, 2007

I'm new to SPED this year and struggling with my one section of Resource Math. It's pull-out one hour per day, and these kids are at different grade levels and different skill levels to say *the least*. They also have reg ed math in their classrooms. All my other interventions are very scripted. We are not just reviewing what they do in class or anything like that. With this one however I have no curriculum, no schedule to follow, no nothin'. This is my largest group and they are all over the place. One can do two digit multiplication, another doesn't even have the concept of one-to-one correspondance. Some have really specific goals, like money and time--I have no idea how to keep taking data on that all year long--others problem solving. I'm just at a loss of what to do with them or how to move things along.:confused:

3. teachersk

teachersk Connoisseur

Dec 4, 2007

I would start on some basics. If you are given no curriculum and no supplies, that's really the best place to start. In our district, the resource classes have to follow the regular ed classes lesson plans, thus you would be provided with lesson plans and materials to carry out those plans. Is this not the case for you? The NCLB act makes it so every special education classroom is "performing on grade level" (in their eyes.... to me it's crazy, but I'm just throwing that out there...)

Anyways, here is a great place for worksheets:

http://www.homeschoolmath.net/worksheets/

They are randomly generated. Perhaps you could start on maybe a happy medium - grade 2 - and go through the basic concepts. This way, you can pull them up to speed with facts, etc.

If a child is much higher, you could start that child on a higher grade level with that same concept (i.e. addition with 2 to 3 digits).