resigned to avoid being non-renewed, feeling utterly hopeless and worthless

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by maynardsong, May 23, 2016.

1. maynardsong

maynardsong Rookie

May 23, 2016

My story: I got a master's in public policy right after undergrad, and worked a lot of internships that didn't translate into jobs. That got frustrating. I was paying bills by tutoring, then I substitute taught and realized I could do real teaching. I pursued world language education.
    In 2014-2015, I was hired to teach Spanish part-time at a middle school in a wealthy area. I really had no idea what I was doing and I cobbled together things and the kids saw right through it and by the time I got the hang of anything, I had lost them. They had zero respect for me. I had ideas on what I'd do differently next year, but I didn't reapply to my part time job. So I didn't get rehired. My principal wouldn't have rehired me anyway though, she told me that although she could tell I worked my heart out, she thought teaching isn't the right field for me. I was a blubbering mess for two days. At the end of the year, my real evaluator went over what I did right and stressed the importance of improving classroom management.