resigned after inappropriate comment

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mountan, Jun 18, 2017.

1. mountan

mountan New Member

Jun 18, 2017

I recently resigned after making an inappropriate comment to a female student. I made the comment after I asked the student to button her shirt up because she was showing to much. I have been teaching for 5 years and really like teaching but feel this might be the end of my career. Is this something I can recover from and if so how would you explain it in a job interview?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 18, 2017

Oh my.
    Were you asked to resign in lieu of termination?

Caesar753 and Leaborb192 like this.
  4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 18, 2017

What was the comment?

Leaborb192 likes this.
  5. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jun 18, 2017

If you are a male teacher, you virtually never get involved in dress code violations with female students, other than sunglasses, hoods up, or shoes. Unfortunately, female teachers get to be the dress code police for everything else. That said, I write it up, and if it is way over the line, I discreetly pass it on to admin so that I don't have a nasty confrontation with any student. If it is bad enough, simply call the main office and tell them that you are sending them student _____ for a DC check. Then it is out of your hands.

As for your job - way to many variables that I know nothing about.

czacza and phillyteacher like this.
  6. mountan

mountan New Member

Jun 18, 2017

Yes I am a male teacher.

7. phillyteacher

phillyteacher Comrade

Jun 18, 2017

Without knowing more about the content and subsequent events, it's hard to say. Just based on what you've said here, lots of red flags have gone up in my mind.

I agree with vickilyn, male teachers need to be very careful about addressing uniform/ clothing issues with female students and err on the side of passing the issue along to a female teacher and/or administrator to handle.