Resetting the tone in my class

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by Mister Peter, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Mister Peter

Mister Peter New Member

Sep 17, 2008

I'm a first year teacher with some classroom management issues (novel, I know). I have a great relationship with my students, I feel comfortable joking around with them and they feel comfortable joking around with me, etc. However, I feel that I wasn't clear enough with my behavioral expectations in the first couple of days, now most days students are very talkative to the point where it's difficult for those who wish to listen to even pay attention. I am having some difficulty laying down the law, I don't want to come off as a cop or some other negative authority figure and lose the good relationship I have with my students now. Any advice for resetting the tone to make up for my inconsistent start?

3. wunderwhy

wunderwhy Comrade

Sep 17, 2008

I don't think losing your good relationship necessarily follows from being perceived as an authority figure. Why would being an adult whom they respect and listen to be a negative thing?

So my advice is . . . watch an episode of SuperNanny. No, really. She means what she says, she follows through, but the children know she loves them. The same goes for teaching.

In my experience, you'll have a better relationship if you demand their attention and don't allow them to be so noisy that learning isn't taking place.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 17, 2008

You can always reset the tone of your room. I would start out by gathering the students together and telling them that the way things are right now in the room aren't working. They might agree with you! Then tell them that from now on this is the way it is going to be and that you are going to hold them to it. Make sure that you are consistant with your consequences.

I wouldn't call a cop a negative authority figure though.

5. FirstYear

FirstYear Rookie

Sep 17, 2008