Renewal

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by allaragallagher, Feb 18, 2015.

1. allaragallagher

allaragallagher Comrade

Feb 18, 2015

I'm just wondering if there is a certain time of year that a teacher usually finds out if she/he has been renewed for another year? What is the etiquette regarding asking about your status?

When I was student teaching, I saw teachers who were not being renewed find out around Thanksgiving. I'm a first year teacher and all my observations have been positive. I have no reason to think I won't be renewed, but I moved up here for this job. If they do not renew me, I want to be able to apply for positions that open up nearby. Can I ask someone or is that considered tacky?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Feb 18, 2015

It really depends on the district. In my area, the union requires that renewals of tenured teachers be completed by the first couple of weeks in May. Teachers on annual contracts (anyone hired after July 2011) have to be told by the last hour of the last day of school before summer vacation.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2015

I believe it's in May in my district.

5. LisaLisa

LisaLisa Companion

Feb 18, 2015

I've had it earlier. They let you know in spring so they can fill the position ASAP. Also, the school may have passed out a form for you to complete about your plans/preferences for next year.

6. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Feb 18, 2015

I've seen it in early spring. I've also seen it on the last day of school (not cool IMO).

7. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Feb 18, 2015

Where are you located? If you're in a public school with a union, there will probably be a mandatory deadline to provide notice one way or another. In CA, as far as I know, the deadline is March 15th, but please correct me if I'm wrong! However, if you are on a temporary (year-to-year) contract, I believe they don't technically have to give you notice at all, which is my situation :(