Relocation Questions

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by obod7x7, Feb 3, 2009.

1. obod7x7

obod7x7 Rookie

Feb 3, 2009

I am currently a student teacher in Secondary Social Studies in Pennsylvania. Due to the complete lack of demand for these teachers in my area, I am looking to relocate to Arizona. I have done quite a bit of research on school districts in the areas I would chose to live. I have also visited several times, so I know the area well.

I am visiting again for a week in March. Unfortunately, only one job fair will occur at that time, but it is better than nothing. I have noticed online job postings for at least three other positions I will be eligible for after May.

Here are my questions:

Should I contact school districts I am interested in, asking them what their policy on out-of-state candidates is? I already realize I will have to apply for a reciprocal teaching license for AZ.

Should I request a meeting or tour of their buildings since I will be in their area?

I do know that I should contact as many districts as possible, but what should I say to them?

I want to leave a good impression and show them that I am 100% committed to relocating. Does anybody have any tips for going about doing this?

3. obod7x7

obod7x7 Rookie

Feb 9, 2009

Just bumping this, hoping to get some sort of response.

4. mego65

mego65 Comrade

Feb 10, 2009

I don't know how much help I am. I am in the same position I am moving to Texas from California. I am going early April for a week and am going to go to a few schools and meet some principals. But, I have a connection, so they will be introducing me. But, I say go for it, make use of your time.