Religious Holidays

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by onestepcloser, Sep 11, 2010.

1. onestepcloser

onestepcloser Companion

Sep 11, 2010

Another question about absences, this time about valid absences on religious holidays.

Say you have students who are absent due to religious holidays. As per protocol where I work, I can't give them work to take home on their religious holiday. But I still have to work with the students who are there, especially if a good chunk of the class is there (only a few are away due to the religious holiday). When students come back from their absence, is it okay to give them work that was covered on the holiday that they now have to catch up on, or do you think that's not appropriate if they were away for a religious holiday?

What if you have a particular class where the majority are away for the holiday? What do you do on that day?

I'm a new teacher, so I'm still getting the hang of these things. As someone who works at a diverse school, I'd appreciate your insight!

3. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Sep 11, 2010

Anyone out on a holiday has an "excused" absence and has 2 days from the time they return to make up any missed work. They are definitely still responsible for the missed work.

On the off chance that the majority of my class is out, I modify my plans and do something the rest of the class won't need to make up. Like show a video that relates to what we're doing, or since I'm a Foods teacher I could do an extra food lab, or play a review game to get ready for an upcoming test. Just something that's still curriculum related, but it won't really matter if all the absent people miss as far as needing to make it up. We had this happen when something like 65% of our students were absent the day of the World Series win parade for the Philly's two years ago. Man was out building feeling empty that day!

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 11, 2010