Regret becoming a special education teacher?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by teacher girl, Sep 28, 2013.

1. teacher girl

teacher girl Comrade

Sep 28, 2013

Is this normal- I hate my job. It is my first year teaching but i absolutely hate my job.lol- I hate inclusion, Is that normal? for first year sped teachers, I get tired of paperwork. I go to work every day at 6:00 am to prepare for the day, and I go home everyday at 6:30- so I feel like all I do is work. I wonder if I made a mistake going into my profession because I hate collaborating with so many people. Some days, are especially draining, with bad behaviors, and I don't like collaborating with the general ed teachers because they don't see me as an equal, because everyone is experienced, ( teaching 10 plus years) and I am first year- I don't like working with my kids, because they don't see me as a teacher either. so.... just venting... and was wondering if that was normal- I find myself looking up programs to get out of special ed, because it is so much to think about all the time. And I teach like 3 grades, so curriculum planning and annual goals are so hard to work out. So far, I've been doing good at work because I put so much work into it, however, I hate it-- Is this normal?

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Sep 28, 2013

Sounds like you need to "exert your muscle." You're a professional. Act like it. Make your colleagues know it. Is it possible that they don't see you as an equal because they don't see what your contribution is? As for the kids... if they don't see you as being a teacher, that's something you need to fix, ASAP. Most of those kids are probably quite used to working with a special education teacher.