Reflections of first quarter

Discussion in 'General Education' started by czacza, Nov 19, 2011.

1. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 19, 2011

For many, we're coming up on report cards, conferences, end of first marking period. As you reflect on these first few months of school, what are the highlights, what makes you proud of your students, about what are you most excited and thankful?

I'm in my second year of third grade after having taught eight years of grade 2. Last year was a whirlwind...juggling a new curriculum, new partners, state testing. This year, I'm in the groove. Earlier this week, my P came and asked if some visiting teachers from Asia could observe in my room. I was the only teacher on my grade level asked...I taught a writing craft lesson. My kids were great, we incorporated technology, the visiting teachers were engaged and interested. We ended the morning with a catered lunch for the visitors and host teachers. My kids told me in the afternoon that they 'felt famous because people came from another country to see how we learn'. :)

I'm so thankful to be in a school that recognizes professionalism, gives us flexibility in instruction, and values the work that educators do.:love:

3. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Nov 19, 2011

We're halfway through the 2nd quarter... for all the craziness going on down here, I have absolutely the BEST group of kids ever. In the history of teaching. Their teachers last year cried when they left. The come in every day excited to learn and try new things. They are absolutely making all the crap going on outside of them worth it :)

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 19, 2011

My first trimester will end with my exam just before Christmas.

I tweaked out the typos in the exam last night. I'll finish the key today, and hand it in for approval Monday. (It's due just after Thanksgiving, but I'm not spending a holiday weekend on schoolwork.)