Record keeping

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by Kerana5, Jul 3, 2006.

1. Kerana5

Kerana5 Rookie

Jul 3, 2006

Hi, I'm new to posting to this forum, though I've been browsing and lurking the A to Z boards for a few years now.

I finished my 3-6 Internship in May and I have just landed a job in Florida...as a lead teacher.

I was very excited about it all until I realized that the responsibility of record keeping has fallen squarely on my shoulders.

The method we used last year at the place I interned was a good idea that got out of hand and became very hard to handle.

If you have found a way to observe children, and record the lessons they've received, the things they need help with, etc. please help me out.

Also, I am supposed to think up a theme to teach the first month of school...when I was planing on doing intro to all the rules, etc. Thinking hard I came up with "Fish".

Reason? First animal in the Botany lessons in Montessori and I could incorporate it into P.L with counters, sorting erasers, etc. In Culture I could introduce Land/air/water and parts of the fish. In Math I could use fish counters and fish silhouttes as Odds and Evens materials.

Any more ideas?

3. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Jul 3, 2006

Sounds like you have a lot of great ideas!

4. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Jul 3, 2006

Hi Kerana5! It sounds exciting to have a new job in Fl!
    I have AMI certificate and 8 years exp. Recently, I began researching different methods taught in Montessori Training programs and I have a few questions, if you don't mind.
    I was just wondering about having "themes" and incorporating this into all areas of Children's House. How does this work and what is the reasoning behind this practice? Is this part of your Montessori training?
    Also, why is the fish first in the Botany presentations?
    I will email you a copy of the record keeping system I use if you want.
    Thanks!

5. Kerana5

Kerana5 Rookie

Jul 3, 2006