Recommendations for math and literacy books/resources/activities?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Dec 24, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Dec 24, 2008

I'm a first year pre-k teacher, and I feel like I was given very little in what I am expected to teach and how to teach it, etc. We use Creative Curriculum, which, despite the massive assessments, does little in giving me ideas on what to teach. 95% of my kids are going to kindergarten next year, and I would like them to be prepared.

Anyway, I feel like my kids aren't grasping letters and numbers, although we go over both every day. I try to make it interactive as much as possible, as we've done counting bears, counting dinosaurs, rolling dice and counting the numbers, counting days on our calendar, alphabet bingo, alphabet fishing game (picking up letters), holding up cardboard alphabet letters and talking about whose name and what words start with that letter, they pick their namecards each day to choose where they will sit for meals, writing materials and sample alphabets are available in writing center and on the wall. Most of my kids can count to 10, with some able to count to early teens. Most kids can pick out the letter that starts their name and maybe 3-5 other letters. I just feel like most of them are behind, but then I've not been told where they're supposed to be. I am overwhelmed with the amount of children with special needs, and I have one or two who already know most/all of the letters and numbers. There's such a big difference in my "highest" kid and my "lowest".

Anyone have ideas for good resource books or materials for teaching math and literacy? I know both are going to be a big deal in kindergarten readiness. I also will not be at this center next year, and I'm going to need a good recommendation and proof that I can teach as I start to interview again.

3. mrgrinch09

mrgrinch09 Comrade

Dec 24, 2008