Recess Inside??

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by scrapaholic, Aug 15, 2007.

1. scrapaholic

scrapaholic Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

Hello everyone! I just had a quick question about having recess inside. The weather here is just way too hot and we start school tomorrow. They want us to keep our students inside for recess for the rest of the week. I am a first year teacher in a 3rd grade room and I was just wanting some ideas on what to let the students do. My dvd/vcr is not up and running yet, so a movie is out. I am open for any suggestions!! THANKS!!!

3. born2teach84

born2teach84 Comrade

Aug 15, 2007

I have board games they play with (candyland, battleship, checkers, and chess)

I have white boards the children draw on, as well as paper they can draw on (this is their favorite thing to do)

they read books

they play with flash cards

and they just hang out talk

4. mcangel

mcangel Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

I have large puzzles (50 pieces; when complete they are the size of a poster), UNO cards, white board are always fun.

I also have a poster on the wall that says inside recess and tells what game we are going to play that day. For example:

- Monday is assigned "4 Corners,"
    - Tuesday - 7 up
    - Wed. - Museum (based off the movie; just like red light/green light except there is a security guard that roams the room and tries to catch people moving. If they make loud noises or touch other people, they are automatically out)
    - Thursday - Good Morning Mr. Judge
    - Friday - free choice (we vote on what game to play, or sometimes I teach them new ones).

If they don't want to join whole class, they do all of the activities that Born2Teach84 suggested as well.

5. cmw

cmw Groupie

Aug 15, 2007

board games, card games, play doh, color by number activities, writing on chalkboards or white boards, coloring book pages, puzzles, hand clapping games, computer games, magnetic letters & numbers, put on kid cds that they can sing to