Reasonably priced Online classes?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Securis, May 30, 2014.

1. Securis

Securis Cohort

May 30, 2014

Reasonable is quite subjective but still.... I've found a few that run about $250 a credit hour. That seems pretty steep considering that you never see a professor face to face and everything is transmitted electronically. Is this the standard range of rates for online programs? And does anyone have a good recommendation*?

So to clarify for the recommendation, I'm an art teacher looking to have my license reinstated in my home state then seek reciprocity in my current state. Plus, I'm thinking that I will shift my focus from arts to special education to, hopefully, be more marketable. So based on that, any good recommendations?

3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

May 30, 2014

I know some of the SUNY schools have online classes. Have you checked those out?

4. SF_Giants66

SF_Giants66 Cohort

May 30, 2014

$250 per credit hour is actually pretty good for graduate credits. Community colleges charge about $125-$150 for undergraduate credits, and that is if you live in county.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 30, 2014

I am just now finishing an online course that ran 1 month, cost me $300 for 3 credits. I did this to bump me up on the payscale. This university actually has a lot of other online classes that seem interesting and they're all for teachers. I paid $1500 (or a little more) a month at National University for the same thing, although it was 4 or 4.5 credit, but even then, it was a LOT of money.

6. eternalsaudade

eternalsaudade Companion

May 30, 2014

Securis, are you looking for individual classes or a degree program? Graduate or undergraduate? Education-related only or other subjects? If undergraduate, is upper (300+ level) vs. lower (100-200 level) division important? I might have some suggestions based on what you're looking for.

7. Securis

Securis Cohort

May 30, 2014