Reason for leaving teaching job mid-year

Discussion in 'General Education' started by KittytoKaren, Mar 27, 2017.

1. KittytoKaren

KittytoKaren New Member

Mar 27, 2017

I was the victim of bullying by my principal and vice principal (actually - all of the staff was bullied) in an urban school. Two of my colleagues resigned from their positions over winter break; I was a first year teacher (Masters) and simply couldn't take anymore. The kids were difficult, but I could work with that. I finally resigned recently - but before the end of the school year. My question is - as I move to interview for other positions - what do I tell the principal (interviewer) about my reason for leaving mid-year? I would appreciate any feedback with sincere thanks...

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 27, 2017

Can you elaborate here on the bullying?

4. KittytoKaren

KittytoKaren New Member

Mar 27, 2017

Administration (either Principal or Vice-Principal) would make repeated, unscheduled visits to my classroom and yell at me in front of my students (which undermined my authority with my students) about random issues that did not impact my teaching ability. Would tell me to "shut up" in grade level meetings. No mentoring provided. No classroom resources that other classrooms had. Sent harassing emails to me and other teachers about reports that needed to be sent to their office that minute with no prior discussion, reminder or warning.Too many issues to list.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 27, 2017

Was this your first year teaching? Some of those issues seem bad, but honestly some of them (lack of mentoring, lack of resources) seem fairly normal, especially at an urban school. Did you print the harassing emails? What made you view them as harassment to you, just that they required an immediate response?