REALLY?!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Olive.Owl, May 19, 2011.

1. Olive.Owl

Olive.Owl Rookie

May 19, 2011

Sadly, the county I work in is having to make drastic budget cuts, which has caused all annual contract teachers to not be given jobs next year. I wasn't thrilled with this news, but I accepted it, since it was a "county thing," and I didn't want to make a fuss, considering I'm a first-year teacher.

However, I found out the other day that another teacher on my team (whom might I say is not nearly as effective or as engaging as I am) was given her position back, but I was left with my same non-reappointed status.

I am not only hurt by this decision, but baffled. The only reasoning I can substantiate for my administration is that she has 30 days more experience than I do. If this is what all schools base their employment off of, the school system is more corrupt than I ever thought.

I know there are only a few weeks of the school year left, but I am going to find it difficult to keep face and conquer through the days with this knowledge bearing on my shoulders. It's going to be even more difficult to face my team and exponentially worse because I share a room with the teacher who was chosen over me. Any suggestions to help strengthen my emotions, mind, and morale would be oh-so appreciated. I just want to make it through the year without changing the bubbly teacher I am or breaking down in front of my students...

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 19, 2011

First :hugs:

Second, you CAN do this. You just have to hold your head up high and put one foot in front of the other. Think about the students that are sitting in front of you.

4. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

May 19, 2011