Ready to throw in the towel

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by runsw/scissors, Apr 28, 2013.

1. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Apr 28, 2013

And it makes me want to cry. :( I have been job hunting and interviewing for three years now. I took the leap of faith last spring and left my position. I have filled out countless applications and gone on five different interviews (which doesn't look like much here in print, but five interviews in three years is telling) and they have all turned out the same; "We have offered the position to someone else because..." I have rewritten my resume, culled new letters of reference, widened my search, and nothing. No one wants me. The market is over-glutted (is that a word) and apparently I am a mediocre teacher at best. I honestly can't see myself doing anything other than education, but I think it's time to close the book on this career. I just don't know anything else, and it's killing me.

3. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

Apr 28, 2013

Keep the faith RWS!
    Things can be different, and IF you decide to quit looking, how about starting networking with those who are in the same boat? Y'all can start a tutoring program, or some kind of business going about education. How about some computer programs for education? I am pretty sure y'all can find some way to bounce back, BUT with God's help. You have to believe, work at it, and things will get better.
    NEVER GIVE UP on yourself! You are in this position for a GREAT reason. Find that love that made you want to be a teacher in the first place, and you will be amazed at what's still left in you. It is better to keep trying than to just quit, and give up. YOU ARE BETTER THAN THAT! You can't give up a fight when you are only in the 3rd round. You have to go the full fight, OR you lose! The boxing talk is coming out of me, due to my Dad's love for boxing.:cool: