Ready to Pull my Hair Out!!!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by JamieLeigh, Nov 17, 2009.

1. JamieLeigh

JamieLeigh Rookie

Nov 17, 2009

This is my first year teaching, and I am having some major behavior problems in my classroom. At first, I thought it was me and my inexperience that was making my students behave this way, but the rest of my class has really shaped up, while about three boys are about to send me to the insane asylum.

One boy is really good until something rubs him the wrong way, and he goes totally berzerk. He runs around the room (sprinting), laughs like a crazy person at the top of his lungs (when he should be in timeout), and goes crazy if I have to restrain him from running around the room. He has kicked the wall or cabinets in anger several times, and has kicked me and other students in these fits of rage. He has been suspended twice and paddled twice (corporal punishment is legal here). His mom doesn't seem to care too much (he acts worse with her). I've tried positive reinforcement (every day), a behavior chart, and many other things. He seems to be worsening.

Another boy is about 2 years old developmentally, but is as sneaky as a ten year old. He wanders the room, opens cabinets and drawers, gets on the computer when he wishes, takes off his shoes or shirt, throws tantrums and hides behind the furniture in my room. I have created a behavior chart for him, and his behavior seems to slowly be improving, but he's often agged on by the other boys. His parents are supportive (seemingly), but merely bribe him if he's good, or spank him if he's bad. He has also been paddled twice.

The third boy is isolated from the table groupings I have in my room. He has a lot of trouble focusing. I've just now gotten him to do any work that we do. This was his main problem, but he has begun taking on the bad behaviors of the other two boys. He threw an all-out fit today. He has never done it before.