Ready to come home to America...now I just need a job!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by cafekarma, Nov 12, 2013.

1. cafekarma

cafekarma Rookie

Nov 12, 2013

Hello, fellow teachers. I've never started a post on a forum in my life, but I really need advice, so it's time!

I'm a Georgia certified k-5 teacher who left the U.S. in 2011 to teach in Berlin. This is my third year in a private bilingual school, and it's hitting me now that as time goes by I will be more and more out of touch with the standards and methods used in schools back home. I'm also ready to be closer to my family and culture again. For these reasons I'm in the process of planning my return.

From what I've read on this forum, it IS possible to get a job in the States, just probably not in Georgia. My school year doesn't end until early July, so I'll have a tricky transition ahead of me. I won't have the luxury of being choosy because once I move my things (and my cat!) home, I'll need to be positive that I can get a job somewhere and fast. It won't be possible for me to show up in person for interviews before July, so my conclusion is that I'll need to search for a job in a district that is willing to consider a candidate who is not currently in the country. I've read that some districts conduct Skype interviews. Is this unusual?

My question is this: Do any of you have suggestions for districts anywhere in the country where a teacher like me could have a solid shot at finding a job? My preference is for a foodie-friendly area that is not too rural and has some sort of cultural diversity. Obviously this is just a preference since I can't afford to be too picky. I can look at job postings, but they don't tell me how many people are applying for the jobs. I'm in the dark over here! Any leads or advice would be fantastic. Thanks!

3. katrinkakat

katrinkakat Connoisseur

Nov 12, 2013

No advice, just wishing you good luck! :)

4. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Nov 12, 2013