Reading Units

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by KAgrade2, Aug 8, 2010.

1. KAgrade2

KAgrade2 Rookie

Aug 8, 2010

The school that I'm at does not use basal readers. I am very happy about this; however, I am trying to map out a rough idea of my curriculum. Since this is my first year, I am having some difficulty. I figured that I would start the year out with friendship (use Frog and Toad). Next, I thought about family. Since I am able to use any books, does anyone have a reading unit idea and/or great book idea?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2010

I wouldn't do themes in reading in grade 2- I'd do units of study as per reading workshop philosophy. Units such as 'Building a Reading Life/Expectations of Reading Workshop', 'Decoding Strategies',Elements of Story, Character Studies, 'Paying Attention to Punctuation', 'Fluency', Nonfiction Reading, Author Studies...

Look at the overview here:

http://www.unitsofstudy.com/teachingReading/default.asp

It's a grade 3-5 resource but it gives an idea of what your year could look like.

4. queenie

queenie Groupie

Aug 8, 2010

Check out this website for some ideas: http://www.thevirtualvine.com/themes&units.html

We use Harcourt and our basal is divided into themes: Being Me, Helping Hands, Our World, Imagine That, Neighborhood News, Travel Time.

Even though you aren't using a basal anymore, could you get some ideas from the old basals as to themes to use and corresponding stories?

Also, are there themes that would coincide with the Science, Social Studies, or Math curriculum so that you could kill two birds with one stone, so to speak?

I was wondering- when you teach without basals, do you have one copy of the stories and read them to the children or do you have multiple copies and do group studies around them?

5. KAgrade2

KAgrade2 Rookie

Aug 8, 2010