reading groups... but for math?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teachingandlearning, Oct 25, 2017.

1. teachingandlearning

teachingandlearning New Member

Oct 25, 2017

Has anyone tried that before? I'm new to teaching and have been having trouble trying to cater towards different levels of understanding within my classroom (2rd grade), and am looking for solutions!

3. Been There

Been There Habitué

Oct 25, 2017

Welcome to the world of teaching! You seem to be focused on differentiating instruction right out of the gate. As a former teacher, I would guess that the range of abilities among your 2nd graders is probably not that great (with a few exceptions). Before you dive into adding more layers to your workload, I would suggest that you stick to teaching the whole class using accelerated teaching methods. Focus on helping your students to gain mastery of the basic math concepts for their grade level which is critical for their future success.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  4. teachingandlearning

teachingandlearning New Member

Oct 25, 2017

Thank you! It's been great so far.
    What exactly do you mean by accelerated teaching methods? And would you say that when I am more experienced, or if I were teaching an upper elementary class, it would be more appropriate to add more differentiated instruction? Thanks again--

5. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Oct 25, 2017

I do guided math daily. Instead of teaching one lesson whole group, I divide my class into four groups and teach the concept four ways. I am locked in to a specific curriculum I have to use, but I assign different problems and teach different strategies to my different groups. I often push my high group up to the related standard one grade level about mine.

Backroads likes this.
  6. Been There

Been There Habitué

Oct 25, 2017