reading fluency rate

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by greenapple14, Jan 15, 2008.

1. greenapple14

greenapple14 Rookie

Jan 15, 2008

This is my first year in first grade, and I was just wondering what level my students should be at right now? What fluency rate would be good or average at this time during the year. I was administering our state's reading inventory today, and found that one of my students is reading at 7 wpm at his instructional level. The reading inventory that we use has five stories. Story 1 is the easiest, and story 5 is the most difficult. According to the inventory he needed to be assessed on story 2. He decoded almost all of the words on the story but very slooowly. At the same time, I have about 8 students reading story 5. Could anyone give me an idea of where my kiddos should be? What can I do to help my 7wpm student? They recently found that he is dyslexic. Any ideas will help. THanks!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jan 15, 2008

This is TPRI right? I think that at the beginning of 2nd grade they should be reading at 20 wpm? Story 5 with dyslexia at 7 wpm is a big accomplishment I would think!

4. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Jan 15, 2008

I have three leveled groups. We fluency test every Friday.
    My below level group has reading rates from 10 wpm to 30.

My on level group has rates from 40-90.

My above level group generally finishes the text in just a few seconds, so when I calculate it out, they could be reading about 150 words per minute at that level.

5. smalltowngal

Jan 15, 2008

Wow, terp! I had only a few of my 2nd graders reading between 120-175 wpm.

6. greenapple14

greenapple14 Rookie

Jan 15, 2008

ok, that helps. Was the passage or text given to all of the students?

7. greenapple14

greenapple14 Rookie

Jan 15, 2008

I'm sorry I meant..Is the SAME text or passage given to all of the students?

8. terptoteacher

Jan 15, 2008