Reading Area

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MissBanger, Jul 4, 2006.

1. MissBanger

MissBanger Rookie

Jul 4, 2006

I've been thinking how I am going to set up my reading area. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm looking to do something cute and comfy. I plan on making some pillows for my reading area but does anyone have any other suggestions?:thanks:

3. shasha379

shasha379 Devotee

Jul 4, 2006

You can use video rockers, bean bag chairs, or just use carpet and pillows. My students really love the video rockers, but they are expensive. Lamps in the reading area my give it a nice touch. What grade are you teaching?

4. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 4, 2006

I like to hang a curtain on the window if your corner is by one. A rug is always a nice touch . I've hung lights on ceiling too.

5. MissBanger

MissBanger Rookie

Jul 4, 2006

Great ideas! I am teaching 3rd grade (it is my first year:)) I would love to put some rugs in my reading area but they are SO expensive! I am making a huge pillow case from some material I have and going to UPS to get it filled with peanuts. It'sthe most inexpensive way to make a bean bag (so I've heard) but we'll see how that goes.

6. Matt Fulmer

Matt Fulmer New Member

Jul 4, 2006

We want kids to have a print-rich environment so I would be sure I posted poems, nursery rhymes, sight words and big books in my reading station. Heck, I would do that all around the room. DO NOT MAKE IT DISTRACTING. What is the purpose of a reading center? TO READ! If you put too much fluff in it, they will not read. My students love for me to post their own writing in the reading center....and I allow them to buddy read poems and rhymes and use a pointer..they love that! Third grade is probably too old for this but you might could even place some stuffed animals in there for them to practice rereads from their book group. Last year, my 2nd graders loved to practice rereads with the animals.

7. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator