Reading AIS

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Sluggermel, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Sluggermel

Sluggermel Rookie

Aug 29, 2007

Hi all,

I am a new reading teacher in a middle school and I am beginning to panic. I just had orientation this week and although it was a bit helpful, it left me feeling very overwhelmed and stressed. Reading teachers do not have a curriculum to follow and help guide instruction. Although this may seem nice since I won't be under constant pressures to meet guidelines, but I always need something to help guide my instruction. I am basically on my own in terms of what to teach. I have mostly small groups of 7th graders. I do have a couple 6th grade groups, but mostly 7th. That kinda leaves me not knowing where the heck to start. School starts in a week and I know the first couple days will be ice breakers, and then I will start assessing the kids to find out what level they are at. I know I would like to teach important reading strategies to use, but I know that won't take up the whole year. Is there anybody that is a middle school reading teacher that may be able to offer some suggestions, advice, or words of comfort? I would appreciate the help! Thanks!

3. willsgirl

willsgirl Comrade

Aug 29, 2007