Reader's Workshop in Primary Grades

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Miss McClain, Jul 26, 2009.

1. Miss McClain

Miss McClain New Member

Jul 26, 2009

As a soon-to-be first-year teacher, I'm spending the last weeks of my summer planning what my days will be like teaching first grade. Since I believe that students need plenty of time to read independently, I favor a workshop approach. While I've had the opportunity to implement reader's workshop in upper-elementary grades, I'm stuck on a few aspects of it when it comes to working with first-graders. If a new or veteran teacher with this experience could offer some advice, I would be so grateful!

Here is my problem:
    My topics for mini-lesson will relate to concepts being taught in my school's adopted basal reader for that week. I will make these concepts interesting, however, by modeling the reading strategy with great trade books. After this 10-minute instructional period, I want my students to read for about 20 minutes. At this time, I was planning on conferencing with individual/small groups of students and recording their progress as described in "The CAFE Book." While I'm conferencing, however, I want to know that the rest of my students are on task and practicing the reading strategy just taught. What can I expect my first-graders to do in order to show this to me? I feel like they seem a little young to be keeping reader's response journals? I want them to record their thoughts, responses, questions, etc. somehow to jog their memory during share time.

Also, how do you have your primary students keep track of what they are reading during this independent reading time? It would be ideal for them to keep a log of this information, but would like it to be as simple as possible for them/me.

Thanks for helping me out! :D

3. MsX

MsX Companion

Jul 26, 2009