Read Aloud for second grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by dunwool, Nov 19, 2008.

1. dunwool

dunwool Rookie

Nov 19, 2008

I'm a student teacher in a second grade classroom and I am looking for ideas for read alouds that we could do during our carpet time. So far we read Roald Dahl books - "The Giraffe, the Pelly, and Me" and "The BFG", Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg, Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren, and we are thinking about starting the Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary. Do you have any suggestions for chapter books to read? I want something that will keep their interest and can be read in short segments since we only have about 15 minutes per day to read. Thanks for the suggestions!

3. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Nov 19, 2008

Hmmm The Doll People?

4. PinkFish

PinkFish Rookie

Nov 19, 2008

I teach second grade math but I do a read aloud at the end of the day while the kids are getting ready to go home. I have found my students LOVE the jigsaw jones books. Right now I am reading magic tree house Thanksgiving on Thursday but the kids don't like it. Yesterday they asked me when they could go back to jigsaw.

5. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Nov 19, 2008

Hijack- Pinkfish, for some reason I do not like the Magic Treehouse books at all. Do you find yourself not paying attention as you read them? I haven't read them to my class this year but I did as a sub. I have some high readers and they have a few they like to read on their own but definitely not all of them. We have read some Junie B. but I change a few of the words.

OP- Do they like Horrible Harry? There is also a book called the Candy Corn Contest that is pretty engaging.

6. PinkFish

PinkFish Rookie

Nov 19, 2008