read aloud advice- 4th grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by 4thgradeteacher, Oct 29, 2005.

1. 4thgradeteacher

4thgradeteacher New Member

Oct 29, 2005

Hello all. I am a new teacher, and as such, am often in dire need of advice and direction. I instituted a read aloud in my class this year, but unfortunately, my first book selection, Jennifer, Hecate, Macbeth, William McKinley, and Me, Elizabeth, was not a great choice. The girls responded well to the book, generally, but the boys were completely disinterested. I am hoping to make a better second choice! Another teacher in the grade is using Molly Moon (the first book in the series) and the kids LOVE IT! Her students rush in from recess to hear the next installment. Unfortunately, a majority of my students have already read this book, so I need to find an alternative that the kids find equally engaging. I am not looking for something too serious- light-hearted with a deep message would be ideal. I have a tentative short list that I am considering, but have yet to read them and would like to begin the read aloud ASAP. These are the books that I bought:
    Carl Hiaasen's "Hoot"
    Cornelia Funke's "The Thief Lord"
    Eva Ibbotson's "Island of the Aunts" and "Which Witch?"
    Andrew Clements' "A Week in the Woods"
    Lynne Reid Banks' "The Indian in the Cupboard"
    Allen Kurzweil's "Leon and the Spitting Image"
    If you think that any of these would make a good read aloud, or you have another suggestion, I would greatly appreciate the advice. Oh, I should also mention that my students tend to be on a high reading level for fourth graders, and most are strongly encouraged to read at home. As such, I couldn't use any of Dahl's great works :( and I should also note that I'm not a Narnia fan, and that I don't care for Holes as a read aloud.
    With all of that said, any pearls of wisdom? Thank you so much!!!
    -an anxious fourth grade teacher

3. Erin Elizabeth