Ratemyteacher.com

Discussion in 'General Education' started by GeetGeet, May 14, 2014.

1. GeetGeet

GeetGeet Companion

May 14, 2014

I try not to let it bother me but not too long ago I got a complaint about me on Ratemyteacher.com. I can't get it off my mind and it made me feel terrible. Has anyone else had this experience? ow much stock would you put in this kind of thing? After reading it I have had a hard time trusting that students are enjoying my classes.

3. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

May 14, 2014

As an elementary teacher I wouldn't put much stock into it. I like to think teaching is a complex process, kids and parents do not really have the expertise to rate the effectiveness of the teaching.

The one thing I would be on the lookout for from students is comments about how you effected their self esteem.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

May 14, 2014

I'd brush it off. Some people write mean things in a huff or to get even.

5. Math

Math Cohort

May 14, 2014

I would say some are on point at least at my school and some are just plain lies.

6. Math

Math Cohort

May 14, 2014

Keep in mind you can not please everyone.

7. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 14, 2014

I wouldn't let it get to you.

8. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

May 14, 2014

I don't think that having all students enjoy your class is an attainable goal. One student is not going to enjoy or benefit from everything that another might. Plus, some students are just going to resent you for that low grade or being "too hard."

I don't blame you for being upset; I would be too. But, I do think that you should just brush it off. If there's something written there that has a ring of truth to it, you might want to consider if there's some modification you can make to your teaching in some way. But if not, let it go and trust that you are a good teacher. If you weren't, you wouldn't care what was said about your abilities on some website.

9. kellzy

kellzy Comrade